Five rea­sons why Employer Brand­ing is indis­pens­able in business

01Jul12

E3 Agency Truly Deeply recently spent a few days in Belgium with fellow E3 agency member BBC on a deep dive into the essential elements of employer branding. David Ansett, Chief Cre­ator of Brands at Truly Deeply, wrote up a great blog summarizing the key elements of what makes employer branding essential for the coming decades. We’ve included an excerpt below. For more, visit the Truly Deeply website.

“As mar­kets in every cor­ner of the world become more com­pet­i­tive, per­haps the last gen­uine oppor­tu­nity for busi­nesses to dif­fer­en­ti­ate is through attract­ing and retain­ing the very best tal­ent. With this in mind the role of HR or Employer Brand­ing is with­out doubt more crit­i­cal to organ­i­sa­tions than ever before — busi­nesses who have devel­oped a strate­gic approach to attract­ing tal­ent hold a dis­tinct advan­tage over their com­peti­tors.” – David Ansett, Chief Cre­ator of Brands at Truly Deeply.

BBC Truly Deeply Employer Branding Deep Dive

Truly Deeply and BBC spent several days on a Deep Dive into Employer Branding strategy.

Five rea­sons why Employer Brand­ing is indis­pens­able in Business

1. War for tal­ent con­tin­ues
As the war for tal­ent con­tin­ues in times of eco­nomic dif­fi­culty, attract­ing and retain­ing the right peo­ple becomes even harder and even more essen­tial. Good employ­ees are key to your busi­ness’ growth; and it’s not just about find­ing the right tal­ent in terms of skills and edu­ca­tion. Find­ing peo­ple that match your com­pany DNA, your cul­ture, goals, ambi­tion and val­ues is vital for retain­ment as well. This DNA lies at the heart of your employer brand.

2. Not every com­pany is Apple or Red­bull
Ama­zon, Apple, Red­bull, Google — who would not want to work for them? But only rarely is a company’s brand strong enough to make peo­ple start their careers there because of its famous prod­uct or ser­vice. Most com­pa­nies need a care­fully and truth­fully crafted employer brand to attract, recruit and retain the right peo­ple. That is why an employer brand needs its very own approach and has its very own dynamics.

03. Retain­ing good employ­ees is essen­tial
The only way to recruit and retain the right peo­ple is by align­ing your exter­nal and inter­nal com­mu­ni­ca­tion efforts. A suc­cess­ful employer brand is truth­ful: it real­is­ti­cally con­veys the way employ­ers and can­di­dates expe­ri­ence the com­pany, but does so in a cre­ative way that speaks to the imag­i­na­tion. It’s all about mak­ing the right promises — and then keep­ing them. That is why employer brand­ing helps align­ing man­age­ment, mar­ket­ing, HR and business.

4. Tal­ent ‘shops’ for employ­ers
As more employ­ers fish in the same tal­ent pond, tal­ent itself looks around before decid­ing where to work, more than ever. It Googles com­pa­nies, asks friends for opin­ions and expe­ri­ences with employ­ers, peo­ple share work­ing expe­ri­ences eas­ily — offline and online. This means you have to be ‘found’ as an employer with your side of the story: employer brand­ing ensures your employer value propo­si­tion (EVP) is authen­ti­cally and evenly com­mu­ni­cated and found across all chan­nels.

5. It makes recruit­ment more effi­cient
As can­di­dates become increas­ingly aware of who you are as an employer, recruit­ment becomes more effi­cient and cost-effective in time. You’ll ben­e­fit from a larger can­di­date pool, employ­ees are more likely to become ambas­sadors which causes employee engage­ment and refer­rals to increase. It will take less time and effort to hire the right can­di­dates and you’ll spend less time deal­ing with non-matching profiles.



34 Responses to “Five rea­sons why Employer Brand­ing is indis­pens­able in business”

  1. 1 Terri

    Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site
    is magnificent, as well as the content!

  2. As the term Vo – IP implies, INTERNET SERVICE IS REQUIRED in order to use
    Vo – IP. Another way to attract clients would be by advertising in local
    papers, magazines, business journals or even getting listed
    on the Yellow Pages. Especially for commercial purposes, having a steady internet connection without interruptions is the key to maximizing profits and improving operations.

  3. 1960). Why will “millenials” produced between appx 1980
    1999 be annoying to younger generations?

  4. Hey there I am so delighted I found your webpage, I really
    found you by mistake, while I was researching on Yahoo for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a incredible post and a all round enjoyable blog
    (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all
    at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added in
    your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep
    up the superb b.

  5. Outstanding post however , I was wanting to know
    if you could write a litte more on this topic? I’d be very thankful if
    you could elaborate a little bit more. Thank
    you!

  6. Hey there, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Opera, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer,
    it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, terrific blog!

  7. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.
    I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  8. I absolutely love your blog and find many of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.
    Does one offer guest writers to write content in your case?

    I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating
    on some of the subjects you write with regards to here.
    Again, awesome weblog!

  9. Great post.

  10. I drop a leave a response whenever I like a article on a site or I have
    something to contribute to the discussion.
    It’s a result of the fire communicated in the article I looked
    at. And on this post Five rea­sons why Employer Brand­ing is indis­pens­able in business | X-Cultural Marketing |
    E3 Agency Network | Global Insights. I was actually excited enough to create a thought
    🙂 I do have a few questions for you if it’s okay.

    Is it only me or does it look like like a few of these responses look like left by brain dead visitors?

    😛 And, if you are writing at other online sites, I would like to keep up with you.
    Would you list every one of your communal sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page
    or twitter feed?

  11. Thanks , I’ve recently been searching for info approximately this topic
    for ages and yours is the best I have discovered till now.
    However, what in regards to the bottom line? Are
    you sure in regards to the source?

  12. This piece of writing is genuinely a nice one it
    assists new the web viewers, who are wishing in favor of blogging.

  13. Hi there would you mind letting me know which web
    host you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different browsers and
    I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.

    Can you recommend a good internet hosting provider at a
    reasonable price? Many thanks, I appreciate it!

  14. Hello, i believe that i saw you visited my weblog so i got here to return the choose?.I am
    attempting to in finding issues to enhance my website!I guess its good enough to make use
    of some of your concepts!!

  15. Everything is very open with a clear clarification of the issues.
    It was truly informative. Your site is extremely helpful. Thank you for sharing!

  16. Yesterday, while I was at work, my cousin stole my
    iPad and tested to see if it can survive
    a thirty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.
    My iPad is now broken and she has 83 views. I know this is entirely
    off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  17. always i used to read smaller content that also clear their motive, and that is
    also happening with this post which I am reading
    at this place.

  18. Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the images
    on this blog loading? I’m trying to determine if its a problem on
    my end or if it’s the blog. Any suggestions would
    be greatly appreciated.

  19. I all the time used to read article in news papers but now as
    I am a user of net thus from now I am using net for
    articles or reviews, thanks to web.

  20. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having a tough time
    locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email.
    I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it
    expand over time.

  21. Hey there! I’ve been reading your blog for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Lubbock Tx!
    Just wanted to tell you keep up the fantastic job!

  22. Wonderful work! This is the kind of info that should be shared across the net.

    Shame on Google for no longer positioning this publish upper!
    Come on over and visit my website . Thank you =)

  23. I’ve been surfing on-line greater than 3 hours these days, but I by no means found any fascinating article
    like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers
    made excellent content material as you did, the web shall be much more useful than ever before.

  24. Hello there, I found your blog by the use of Google while looking for a comparable subject, your website came up, it seems to be good.
    I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, simply become aware of your blog thru Google, and found that it is
    really informative. I am going to be careful for brussels.
    I’ll be grateful when you proceed this in future.
    Numerous people might be benefited out of your writing.
    Cheers!

  25. Hello, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam responses?
    If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything
    you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any help
    is very much appreciated.

  26. Your way of describing everything in this post is
    in fact nice, every one be able to easily know it, Thanks a lot.

  27. Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular post! It is the little changes
    that will make the greatest changes. Many thanks for sharing!

  28. I visited various blogs however the audio feature for audio songs current at this web page
    is really wonderful.

  29. Fastidious response in return of this issue with firm arguments and describing all concerning that.

  30. Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular article!
    It’s the little changes that produce the most important changes.
    Many thanks for sharing!

  31. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to send you an e-mail.
    I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

  32. It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy.
    I have read this post and if I could I want to suggest you few interesting things
    or tips. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to
    this article. I desire to read even more things about it!

  33. Hi, yup this piece of writing is actually nice and I have learned lot of things from it about blogging.

    thanks.

  34. After exploring a number of the blog posts on your
    website, I really appreciate your way of writing a blog.

    I book-marked it to my bookmark website list
    and will be checking back in the near future. Please visit
    my web site too and tell me what you think.


Leave a comment