Has Ikea taken corporate branding to a new level with Web shows?

18Sep09

Have branded webisodes become the new indie film studios? That was the question asked by Andrew Hampp in Advertising Age. But another question for marketers, especially international ones, might be how far can brands go in making their message become the medium? And does being able to laugh at yourself open new doors?

Digital media is constantly reinventing itself and creating new genres of advertising and marketing cross-overs. One of the latest is the “sponsored” web-film series, such as the hugely popular show from IKEA by indi-film star Illeana Douglas starring actors including Justine Batemen, Ed Begley Jr., Kevin Pollak and Jeff Goldblum. The program, called “Easy to Assemble,” which debuted last fall, was created as a web series written by and starring Douglas.

In the show, Ms. Douglas plays a fictional version of  herself as an actress who takes a job in Ikea only to find she has competition from other Hollywood-has-been actors.

In less than a year, the program quickly reached 1 million viewers, which shows that the market for web series, even sponsored ones, is genuine. The show’s second season will make its debut on web video site My Damn Channel on Oct. 8.

According to Advertising Age, it was Ikea’s media agency Mediaedge:cia, who saw the potential in Douglas’s sitcom script (which was originally called “Illeanarama” ). The agency approached the actress about switching the original supermarket setting for an Ikea store and created it as a web-show.

Ms. Douglas, a self-identified “Ikean,” told Ad Age, “Of the other brands I sat with, the only one I wanted to work with was Ikea. I love their Swedish sensibility and the quirkiness of the brand really could fit me. I also liked their European influence vs. some of the America companies I talked to, because I don’t feel like they were really going to understand or trust what I could do with their brand.”

But one reason the show may be so popular is because of Ikea’s willingness to let the show laugh at the cultural differences that make Ikea (and Swedes)  interesting to Americans. Ikea’s marketing chief, Magnus Gustaffson, gives the shows stars the freedom to make jokes at the chain’s expense. Especially things like product names that translate funny into English. (Like “crap” for “quilt.”)

Watch an Episode “Easy to Assemble 07: How Swede It Is:”

So what do you think? Are there other products that could translate well into sponsored TV shows, films, theatre? Is this just the beginning of a new form of “sponsorship?”

6 Responses to “Has Ikea taken corporate branding to a new level with Web shows?”

  1. 1 Del

    Hi there, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam remarks?
    If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any assistance is very much appreciated.

  2. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this excellent blog!

    I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to fresh updates and will share this website with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

  3. What’s up to all, how is the whole thing, I think every one is getting more from this website, and your views are nice in favor of new
    viewers.

  4. Excellent site you have here but I was curious if you knew of any discussion boards that
    cover the same topics discussed in this article? I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get opinions from other experienced people that share the same interest.
    If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thanks a lot!

  5. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

  6. Idealny post, czytałem go z uśmiechniętą twarzą


Leave a Reply

